Post Vasectomy Pain Forum

PVP after 1 week - now 2,5 months in

Hello. My first post here.

I am a doctor myself, though not a urologist.45 years old, no previous medical history. English isn’t my first language.

Had a vasectomy 2,5 months ago. I was worried about pvps before the procedure, but was eventually convinced by the surgeon that it was nothing to worry about. Asked him directly what the risk was, but he shrugged it of with a short “extremely rare”.

About a week after the surgery I developed extreme pressure pain in both testicles, constant 10/10, didn’t sleep for 3 nights. Eventually I had to be drugged away on tramadol for several ways just to cope. The pain was so intense I had to take sick leave from work for over a month. I eventually got so stressed out from pain and sleep-deprivation, the idea that I would never get rid of the pain, and the despair from realizing the surgeon lied to me, that I developed quite serious suicidal thoughts. Got an emergency admission to a psychiatric ward, stayed there for almost two weeks. Getting regular meals, sleep, and anti-psycotic drugs helped, and I was nearly pain free when released.

Now I am back in work, and the pain is somewhat bearable, but far from optimal. I use paracetamol 1gx4, an NSAID, some anti-psycotic for sleep, and 50 mg tramadol every other day. I’ve had two different urologists look at me, but the rule-of-thumb in my country seems to be that nothing surgically can be done for me.

I’ve noticed that the pain lessens the further time has passed since an ejaculation, but if I feel almost pain-free and try to have sex, ejaculation causes a sharp pain in both epididymus’ followed by quite increased pain the next days. I’ve had a few days with almost no pain, but the days after sex it’s back up to 4-5/10, with short higher spikes.