Post Vasectomy Pain Forum

Ilioinguinal nerve block - Pulsed radio-frequency

I’m now booked in to have a ultrasound-guided pulsed radio-frequency ilioinguinal nerve block while I wait for a right side orchiectomy.

If the nerve block works, then I wont need the testicle removed, but what if the nerve block makes things worst?

Do I go straight for removal, or do I try the nerve block?

Do you have a diagnostic injection or a pulsed RF treatment? I assume what you mean is you’ll have pulsed RF on the II if the diagnostic block works.

A pulsed RF injection with ultrasound guidance.

Did you have diagnostic blocks before? Left/right? II and also GF?
Did you have such a treatment (pulsed RF) before?
Was pulsed RF offered to you, or were there also alternatives (RF, botox, cryo,…)?
I am at a stage considering these treatments, too.

Very unlikely a block would make you worse. I’m not sure I’d worry about that. I’ve been giving nerve blocks 12-15x a day for the last 14 years. With the exception of a little post op soreness, I’ve never seen an issue. Good luck

I once read that injecting into the ilioinguinal nerve can sometimes damage it, which then triggers more pain???

I dont think my pain is being conducted via the Ilioinguinal nerve, I don’t really get pain in the abdomen or inner thigh, no burning pain. My pain is in the testicle itself, top and bottom of testicle and the pain goes all the way down my right leg into the top middle of my foot.

My surgeon said that the surface of my right testicle is inflamed, he reckons I’ve had a previous infection which has damaged the tissues.

The pain clinic has offered me the pulse radio frequency nerve block, but I cant see it working, I don’t reckon it’s the llioinguinal nerve that is being affected, seems a waste of time having the block, I don’t fancy mucking something else up.

I’m more inclined to go straight for orchiectomy, just get rid of the damn thing.